Cockeyed?

Have you ever come away from an art exhibit with the feeling that the artists must be “cockeyed” to paint such weird-looking art? Yesterday morning Leicalady and I settled into our normal Saturday routine. I had just finished my run and was waiting in the truck for Leicalady to finish hers. I picked up one of Leicalady’s art magazines and starting thumbing thru the pages – truly, every single image had to be produced by a cockeyed artist! I saw NOTHING that I thought was worthy of notable consideration. I am very visually open-minded. What could produce these artists to paint with such strange colors, distorted figures and really unusual impressionistic effects?

Curious, I turned to the magic of Google. I was shocked at the results. In the late 1930’s there was actually a Los Angles eye physician who claimed that such visual defects of nearsightedness and astigmatism account for what the average man considers weird in modern art. He went on to speculate that visual defects may have been responsible for much that is great in modern art and were perhaps a factor in the founding of the modern school of impressionistic art! He theorized that visual defects produce vision where details are lost, essential lines and shapes are relatively more striking but objects are blurred and colors, especially blue, are not seen correctly. Now it makes sense. Thank you for explaining it Dr. Lloyd A Mills!

I have worn glasses to correct my nearsightedness for fifty years. I started thinking that perhaps I too have the capability of producing bizarre art. Just saying…I love the cockeyed look. I try to capture the not so obvious. If nothing else, I satisfy the curiosity of my own mind…

No adjustment necessary...

Cockeyed is officially defined as the condition in which the lines of sight of the two eyes are not directed towards the same fixation point when the subject is actively looking at a subject. One treatment that appears to offer relief from this “eye defect” is vision training – also called eye exercises. I imagine that all artists practice some form of eye exercises. I am positive that the results vary – evidenced by lack of appreciation of the artists that I saw yesterday in Leicalady’s magazine! One thing is for sure – when it comes to art that I appreciate, there is nothing that compares to the efforts of Leicalady!!!

Cactus Jack

~ by leicaman on January 15, 2012.

One Response to “Cockeyed?”

  1. I guess I am one of those cockeyed artists, I must admit that my paintings always look better to me without my glasses. I love your blog anyway.Cheers Sue

Leave a Reply

 
