Whats your point?

I hate the expression “CHILL OUT”  Even though I am guilty of using it in the past, I believe it is a really obnoxious expression. I would rather be told to relax or take it easy. Anyway, I started thinking about expressions that my parents used when my brothers and sisters were growing up…

There were seven of us at the dinner table every night. Usually, one of us would
start arguing about something and GrandMoye would say “Shut your mouth and eat your dinner” Impossible…

Mom would remind us regularly that she *really*  *really*  *really* meant it…

I can remember Mom telling me “You make the bed you lay in”. Meaning of course that you must own the consequences for all your choices, in all areas of your lives and bear the burden of those consequences. This was law to GrandMoye. Nothing was spared. No excuses, EVER. If you made a bad choice you paid the price…

When we were little and wandered a little to far from home, GrandMoye would come find us and “MARCH US BACK HOME”…

GrandMoye would always say “I have to powder my nose” when she meant she needed to use the restroom…

GrandMoye always called the fridge an “icebox” …I still do!

GrandMoye would refer to her hair conditioner as “Cream rinse”…

My father also had some famous expressions. Being from Texas, he would always say that he was “fixin” to do something. NOT fixing.

One of his favorite expressions was describing someone as being “tight”…I remember it took me awhile to learn that he meant stingy…

When I was assigned a chore to do, DaddyBub would warn me not to “dillydally” – in other words make the most of your time…which reminds me, when I completed the chore he would always ask me “Are you proud of it?” Usually I would return to the task and do a little better job…

When DaddyBub was not impressed with one of our friends he liked to use the term “dumber than a stump”…

My father loved the expression “running around like a chicken with its head cut off”…

These are all precious memories…I just wish I could think of some more…I guess I am getting older than dirt…

~ by leicaman on April 21, 2011.

2 Responses to “Whats your point?”

  1. Daddy Bub “hung the moon” “I reckon so….” something about a catfish?

  2. I love this post! Sounds like a scene from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

 
