Follow me please…

 

It's not that cold...

 

South Texas is shivering! We are very spoiled when it comes to Winter Weather – seldom gets below thirty degrees and snowfall happens about once every ten years. South Texas is currently under a Winter Storm Advisory for the next 24 hours – 3 inches of snow is predicted overnight! Leicalady and I have been busy keeping up with hay, feed, cubes and water troughs all day. It is currently twenty-four degrees and has been below freezing since last night. The dogs are experiencing a bit of cabin fever. I decided to venture out into the back pasture to see if the pond was frozen over…Flaca decided to lead me.

 

 

I know which way to go...

 

Flaca has really adjusted well, considering we rescued her just six weeks ago. She is no longer skin and bones and is best friends with Sky. She is well-behaved around the horses, goats, Miss Piggy, the cats and Jack & Joe. She loves attention – so I only took her on our excursion. She is very intense…

 

 

Did you here that?

 

 

Not that much further...

 

I had hoped that we might see something really exciting but I guess it was just to cold for everybody to be out and about. When we arrived at the tank Flaca wanted to swim!

 

 

I think I see something!

 

 

What was that?

 

Flaca indeed had seen something…nothing special – just a little Killdeer (Charadrius vociferus) Flaca chased her around the perimeter of the pond for a few minutes. She quickly became exhausted and we both decided it was time to head back to the house. (my toes were frozen) Jack and Joe posed for us on the way…

 

 

Braving the cold...

 

 

Will it snow?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by leicaman on February 3, 2011.

2 Responses to “Follow me please…”

  1. Gorgeous dog (Rhodesian Ridgeback?) Anyway, I love these photographs. Seems I’m always drawn to Texas photo blogs before I know where the blogger is from. I was born in Wichita Falls, so maybe I’ve got some built-in radar? Anyway, just wanted to stop by and say I enjoyed this post. 🙂

  2. Hi Nancy! Thanks for the visit. So glad you stopped by…

Leave a Reply

 
