Finally!

The last time Leicalady and I saw an Owl (actually two) at the Rockin’P was about 5 or 6 years ago. We were on a trail ride late in the afternoon and spotted two Great Horned Owls perched in a tree. We were mesmerized by their beauty and size. We must have studied them for 15 to 20 minutes! They were truly magnificent. Ever since then we have longed to spot another – but without success. The are nocturnal creatures so sighting them during the day was a rarity. We have been on many Owl excursions at night but  to no avail. I was on my way home from the lab one night last week when something caught my eye. I stopped the car, grabbed my camera (300 mm lens) and snapped away. I did not have a chance to check the images until today…

Wow!

There he was, perched on a high tree looking and waiting for his prey. He has incredible hearing and excellent vision in very low light. His ears are not placed at the same elevation on their heads but rather are typically one, a bit higher than the other. His eyes are not movable, rather than turning the eye in its socket the owl must turn its head instead! Their prey might include rats, squirrels, moles, mice and other small varmints. The Great Horned Owl is one of the most powerful and largest raptors in Texas. To listen to him make his sound, click here. Owllelujah…I think Leicalady and I have evolved into being quite the dedicated omithologist.

~ by leicaman on January 31, 2011.

2 Responses to “Finally!”

  1. I like this!! I use to have 2 owls too – but don’t see them any more … but we do hear others!

  2. Really cool photo!

Leave a Reply

 
