“My kids are getting old”

So I go to visit my 90-year-old mother this morning. Today is my sixtieth birthday. Her memory leaves a lot to be desired so we are all very patient with her. Initially I had decided not to bring up the birthday as it would probably upset her that she forgot and she would be worried about a present etc. After visiting for thirty minutes (and answering the same questions over and over) my mom turned to me and said “Tom, what is the date today?” I replied why it was already the 11th of January. She paused, hesitated and  then casually mentioned how time flies. I just knew that would jog her memory and that she would  remember today was my birthday. I reminded her that it was her mother-in-law’s birthday and that if she were alive, she would be 125. Still nothing! I told her that NANNAW shared her birthday with someone very special – still nothing! Finally, I said “today is my birthday!” She exploded with emotion and hugged and kissed me for 5 minutes.

Now that I have had time to think about our conversation this morning, I am so glad that I gave her the opportunity to share my birthday. She continues to be truly a remarkable and beautiful woman. Not to to mention a wonderful mother! Thank you mom for bringing me into this world…I love you.

I snapped this picture before I left.What a radiant smile…

~ by leicaman on January 11, 2011.

2 Responses to ““My kids are getting old””

  1. What a beautiful picture!
    Happy Birthday Tom!!!

  2. What a beauty she is! Happy Birthday, and take it from a mama who knows, you are always, always your mother’s baby!

Leave a Reply

 
