Eighteen and lovin’ it…

I had graduated from high school two months before. My parents were soon to be taking my two sisters and myself to Europe for ten days. Upon our return I would pack up and head for my freshmen year in college! And here I was in Big Bend National Park, 1969, with my best friend Paul. I was anxiously anticipating all the events that would soon transpire. Paul and I had planned this trip months in advance. Camping, cooking, hiking and exploring were all on the agenda.We made the trek in a 1961 “rag top” Volkswagen bug without a hitch. In 1933 the Texas Legislature designated the 800,000 acres as Big Bend State Park. In 1944, Texas deeded the land to the federal government and Big Bend National Park became a reality. It includes more than 1,200 species of plants, more than 450 species of birds and 56 species of reptiles. We had a blast! My fondest memory was wading in the ankle-deep Rio Grande crossing in to Mexico without a soul in sight. My how times have changed! Paul took this photograph with his Kodak Instamatic. I have a Kodak 35mm around my neck and General Electric light meter attached to the strap. It would be years before I had my first Leica…

What a goofball!

~ by leicaman on January 6, 2011.

2 Responses to “Eighteen and lovin’ it…”

  1. What an exciting time!
    P.S. LOVE the glasses!

Leave a Reply

 
