Follow me…

I knew the moment I saw it,  that there was tremendous potential. There was something about the mood in the image that I loved – I just wish that I had shot it. The story goes something like this…Leicalady and I had traveled to the French community of Castroville, west of San Antonio, for a day excursion of antique looking and shopping. I imagine that we visited four or five shops. The last one really caught my eye…

appropriately called, The House of Joy

Ignoring the closed sign, we ventured in and quickly came to the conclusion that this was going to be fun. We explored the cavernous space finding many oddities that we could not live without. The owner was most cordial as she allowed me to take as many photos as I liked.

I was drawn to the staircase for unknown reasons. It led to the basement where I was going to discover the photograph that I wish I had shot…

Down I went...

The basement was a concoction of various items – books, magazines, ceramics, frames, canes and a very few old photographs on the wall. I could not help but slow down as I went down the stairs – it was like someone was saying “follow me.”

These guys were laughing at me as I walked by...

Old school reading...

I was about ready to turn around and head back upstairs when I saw it…cock-eyed and dusty hanging on the wall. I walked over and immediately said, damn I wish I had taken that! It really needed some help. I called out to the owner and pleaded with her to allow me to copy it, she obliged saying that her grandfather had shot it many years ago…

I just recently came back to the image. Patience. With a little help from PhotmatixPro and Aperture I created an image that I find very tranquil. I only wish I had shot it! Special thanks to the shop owner and to that staircase for inviting me down. I was glad I followed the calling…

~ by leicaman on December 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
