“Patience is the companion of wisdom”…

Very insightful words from the great ancient Roman theologian, St Augustine. I have envisioned for a very long time a short video of our CaraCara’s, Chill & Will, documenting their eating habits on our fence line. I cannot say for sure, but I believe they have been our guests now for at least five years! Unfortunately, our video equipment leaves a lot to be desired- consequently, the concept just stayed in the back of my mind for all this time. I have shared many pictures of them enjoying their treats. Santa was awfully nice to LeicaLady and myself this Christmas – he left a little wonderful Flip HD video camera and a magnificent Robo portable tripod for our enjoyment. My patience paid off…

The camera is framing their favorite eating spot...

The bird's view of the video camera...

Ready to go!

After getting everything ready, I went back to the house to fetch their treats. I turned around halfway and saw Chill & Will circling overhead. I was paranoid that they might swoop down and grab the little camera, thinking it was a snack! The rest is history…

Robert Wise, the famous American film Director and Academy Award winner (Sound of Music & West side Story) once said, “My three P’s: passion, patience, perseverance.” Virtues that all aspiring filmmakers should adhere to! I know that with this little movie my patience paid off! I hope you enjoyed it…

~ by leicaman on December 27, 2010.

3 Responses to ““Patience is the companion of wisdom”…”

  1. How very neat to see the birds up close like that! 😀

  2. Wow! What a beautiful video! So glad you got that camera for Christmas. I look forward to more!

Leave a Reply

 
