Primal instinct…

I stopped at the mailbox late yesterday afternoon, got out of the car, retrieved the mail and immediately had a weird sensation that I was being stared at! I know it is a feeling we all have from time to time but this was really intense. I knew there was nobody within a mile of me…I turned around to get back into the car,  looked up and sure enough there was Red Fred giving me a hard cold stare down…

Hello there...

He continued to watch me as I returned to the car, fetched my camera and started snapping away. I have always heard that staring can be interpreted as hostile or affectionate. I have also heard that staring can be a sign of aggression or invasion of privacy. I continued gazing at him for several minutes…wondering why he would not take his eyes from me! Research says there are many reasons for staring. Staring might be the result of admiration. I have no reason to believe Red Fred admires me. It is also possible that the staring is a sign that a conversation wants to be initiated . Reciprocating a stare can be taken as a sign that you are interested. Maybe that is why he did not fly away..I continued to look at him as I snapped away. I must confess, I did engage him in conversation – I asked him if he would be so kind to sit tight for a while! I wondered if maybe the stare was Red Fred judging me…I have heard that is another reason for a cold stare. I do not believe he is judgmental, as in reality, he is just a bird! After several minutes Red Fred had enough of this foolishness…

Until we meet again...

Here's looking at you Red Fred...

~ by leicaman on December 10, 2010.

One Response to “Primal instinct…”

  1. Wish I could have seen him!

Leave a Reply

 
