Thanksgiving…

I remember reading Thornton Wilder’s “Bridge Over San Louis Rey” Thanksgiving weekend in 1968. I only remember that I enjoyed reading it – I could not remember the plot, so I researched it on the web and soon realized why it won the Pulitzer Prize in 1927. After I refreshed my memory on the plot I discovered a very meaningful quote attributed to the author:

“We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.”

I can honestly say that the Parish family were all very much “alive” yesterday as we were all very conscious and thankful of our family & friends – what treasures!

What a group!

GrandMoye with her great-grandchildren (not all of them)

On a day like yesterday, I realize that all to often we probably take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude…we have so much to be thankful for…family!

GrandMoye and the "cousins" (not all of them)

My nephew, Chad - all the way from Georgia!


~ by leicaman on November 26, 2010.

One Response to “Thanksgiving…”

  1. This is soooo nice! Thank you for the wonderful pictures – such great memories – and all you two did to make it such a perfect day! I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

 
