Fine feathered winged friends…

I knew it was early this morning when I got out of bed but with the time change last night, I realized that it was really not even five AM! Oh well, the early bird gets the worm and the second mouse gets the cheese! Speaking of birds, Leicalady and I have an absolute love affair with our fine feathered winged friends. We have learned to recognize many that are native to our south Texas Landscape. We enjoy watching, listening and capturing all their different personalities. Shortly before his death in 1974, the great Charles Lindbergh said, “I realized that if I had to choose, I would rather have birds than airplanes.” Well said! Leicalady and I have a very deep feeling about all our bird friends…

A lone Egret in flight...

This reminds me of Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds"

Our friend Buffy, a rescued Black Vulture

They show up every February for the last 14 years...

A visiting Eurasian-collared Dove...

Texas Wood storks migrating home...This reminds me that when I was twelve years old GrandMoye gave me a book to read, "The Stork Didn't Bring You." I guess all my brothers and sisters had to read it too...I was embarrassed!

Juvenile Lark Bunting...

Dinner time for this cute (fat) Meadowlark...

Sparrows galore...

"Red Fred" our neighborly Red Tailed Hawk...

Our Mallards in flight...

James Langston Hughes was a famous Black American playwright,poet and novelist who died in 1967. I remember some of his works from high school English classes. He was quite the innovator, introducing “jazz poetry” and reminding all that “Harlem was in vogue”. My favorite quote of his of course references birds…

“Hold fast to dreams, for if dreams die, life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.”

Chill dreaming about his next meal...

~ by leicaman on November 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
