It is all in your attitude…

 

 

It is sometimes fun to think back in time on the people, moments and things that made an impression on you. When I was in high school, one of the most important aspects of my young life was basketball. My coach, Joe Cortez, was recently inducted into the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame – he is the winningest high school basketball coach in San Antonio history! I played on his 1967 State Championship team as a sophomore. He was a remarkable coach in many ways! I will remember always his pregame and halftime speeches on the importance of “attitude”. As I reflect back on this, I realize today on how correct he was. Not only in the competitive sense but in real life situations. As I approach my sixtieth year, I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude is really more important than facts. It is more important than what has happened in the past, than money, than education,than successes, than failures, than what other people think, say or do. The wonderful thing about attitude is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we embrace for that day. We all have to remember that we cannot change our past or the fact that people will act in a certain way. That is inevitable. The only thing we can do is to have an attitude about us that inspires those around us. I believe that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it…we are all in charge of our own attitudes. Thanks “Papa Joe” for the life lesson!

 

~ by leicaman on October 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “It is all in your attitude…”

  1. just think how many life lessons you have given, Daddy Tom Pop!

  2. How I agree with you. My Dad always said that every event in your life moulds you, whether it is good or bad. The way you deal with it is what mmakes you into the person you become.
    PS love your bird pictures!

Leave a Reply

 
