Impressionism…

Impressionism began in Paris in the late 1800’s. The name was derived from the great Claude Monet’s painting, “Impression, soleil levant.”

 

1872

 

Leicalady and I have always enjoyed the style and beauty of the classic impressionist artists. The freedom of composition, small thin brush strokes, the interpretation of light, simple subject matter and the inclusion of movement have always attracted us to this classic form of art. I have proclaimed on many occasions that I am not an artist but if I were, I would be an impressionist. On our recent trip to Rockport I had an opportunity to “impress ” with my camera…

The photographic movement in the late 1800’s, Pictorialism, subscribed to the idea that art photography needed to emulate the painting and etching of the time. It resembles the impressionist movement in art…

 

George Seely, " Black Bowl"

 

 

Demachy, " Speed"

 

I know Daddy Bub had his own unique style. Leicalady and I think about him and his photographic inspiration everyday…

~ by leicaman on October 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
