Old school verses new school…

I use to love to spend hours and hours in the darkroom. The smell of D-76 was always so captivating. I would experiment with Acufine, Rodinal and Microdol X film developers. Ilford FP4 was my favorite film…I would process it in D-76 1:1 at 68 degrees for 8.5 minutes and produce really beautiful B/W negatives. I was infatuated with high contrast images so Kodalith was always in my inventory of film. Leicalady and I would spend hours teaching darkroom classes to aspiring hobbyists. I would print on everything from a Beseler 23c-II XL to an Omega D-5 with a cold light head. I remember when RC paper was first introduced by Kodak in 1974.This eliminated a lengthy phase of the already tedious process.  One no longer needed  an expensive paper dryer to achieve high gloss prints! My gosh times have changed…Daddy Bub is smiling and loving every minute of our shared joy of photography.

IMG_8750

Old school...

I honestly cannot remember the last roll of film I shot. Leicalady and I will eventually have another darkroom to share our love of printing with our grandkids. (If that EVER happens) We have been digital ever since our first digital camera, the Leica Digilux I. The learning curve was challenging at first but we were diligent and finally are confident in our digital abilities. (however, we continue to learn) I have recently been enamored with HDR (High Dynamic Range) images. It provides luminances between the lightest and darkest areas of an image that standard digital imaging techniques or photographic methods cannot produce. This wider dynamic range allows HDR images to represent more accurately the wide range of intensity levels found in real scenes ranging from direct sunlight to faint starlight. I have been experimenting with Photomatix Pro software the last few days and am quickly discovering an excitement that I have not felt since my days in the darkroom. The following images represent my first attempts at generating the HDR effect. It will continue to be a work in progress…

brushes II

HDR image...

09

HDR image...

IMG_8867_8_9_tonemapped

HDR image...

~ by leicaman on November 13, 2009.

One Response to “Old school verses new school…”

  1. GREAT post!!!!! By the way! Love
    Leicalady

Leave a Reply

 
