Works in progress…

Saturday afternoon Peyton asked me if I would help him work on a project. Now this is pretty unusual because he is very independent and usually capable of doing any thing he puts his mind to. This was different. I said sure and he proceeded to tell me he wanted to build a “steampunk” pistol for his Halloween costume. Obviously, not being very hip, I wondered what in the world was steampunk. I was quickly educated. Steampunk is a subculture of fantasy that came into prominence in the eighties and early nineties. The best illustration of steampunk fiction is illustrated in the works of H.G. Wells and Jules Verne. It references an era of the world when steam power was widely used. I encouraged him to come up with a design and we would build it together…less than an hour later he submitted his 1/2 scale drawing and we started to work. I quickly realized that this pistol was pure fantasy and I became totally enamored with the project.IMG_8651We scavenged the garage for various components ranging from old audio cables, unusual bolts, old faucet fittings and of course some tarnished brass fittings. After sawing the barrel and handle for him, I left him alone to begin the assembly. We still have work to do…IMG_8652While Peyton and I were putting his pistol together, Leicalady had her own project she was working on…IMG_8663This will be the largest painting she has ever done…IMG_8664The tree will be very spooky and of course the owls will be perfect…IMG_8666

~ by leicaman on September 14, 2009.

One Response to “Works in progress…”

  1. It was a really fun week end! I loved painting the steam punk gun. I made good use of my 100 plus tubes of acrylic paint. Can’t wait to see the finished project and my owls are so fun to work on…..perfect fin de semana

Leave a Reply

 
