Brotherly love…

DSC00652

It is sad when the human spirit dies. We all deal with the sadness in our hearts in different ways. I believe that when death occurs, it is important for the remaining loved ones to cherish the memories of the lost human spirit. I will forever remember my oldest brother, Russ. He was eight years older and by the time I was ten he was long gone and serving in the United States Navy on the USS Pandemus. Consequently, most of my early memories of Russ were when I was very young. In 1960, I was 9 years old and loved eveything about sports. Most of my free time was spent in our vacant lot playing baseball, in our driveway shooting hoops or in our frontyard throwing the football. I loved Mickey Mantle, Roger Maris, Tony Kubeck, Whitey Ford and all the Yankees! At the end of the day, I was usually very tired. Grand Moye and Daddy Bub allways insisted that I be in bed by 9 PM. I usually abided by their wish. (with this one little exception) After the lights went out I would sneak into Russ’s bedroom, climb up on his bed and if I was lucky he would let me listen to his Hallicrafter shortwave radio. He had these magnificent army surplus black headphones that were way to big for me but he would gently put them over my head and tune in some far away station, and despite the static I thought I was in heaven! Well it is Russ who is in heaven now, bless his heart. I will forever miss his human spirit but I will ALLWAYS cherish the great memories he left implanted in my heart. I love you, Russ…

~ by leicaman on August 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “Brotherly love…”

  1. I can only imagine what you are going through, although I know you so well…….It’s all a personal dealing with our incredible grief

  2. Tom, I enjoyed reading about your memories of Russel. I know your whole family is still hurting from the loss of your dad. My thoughts are with you and Dana this weekend.

Leave a Reply

 
