Duck Ducks Flying…

I was driving home in my pickup (minus my stolen tailgate) when I checked the rearview mirror and was alarmed by two sights! One a Wilson County deputy with his lights flashing and second,  four beautiful mallard ducks standing in the pickup bed! I proceeded to pull onto the shoulder wondering what was up. The officer asked me if I knew how fast I was going but I could tell he was really amused with the ducks in the back of the truck. (my wife and I love ducks) He issued me a warning ticket and said I really should take the ducks to the Zoo in Brackenridge Park. He wished me good luck. I debated all of one second. No way was I going to the Zoo. After making a necessary stop at the feedstore for some cracked corn, I headed home – ducks still in the truck! Luck have it, I look in the rear view and there is the deputy again, lights flashing! I pull over, and he says “I thought I told you to take them to the zoo!” Lost for words I responded “I did, but now they want to go home!” As I arrived at the Rockin’P they flew off,  but to this day Dana and I enjoy their daily visits…

~ by leicaman on July 31, 2009.

One Response to “Duck Ducks Flying…”

  1. […] not hatch them – she used an incubator! Anyway, ducks have been a part of our family for many years. We have not seen any of our ducks in months, until this past weekend. They buzzed the house several […]

Leave a Reply

 
